SteelHeart by: Brandon Sanderson

There are no heroes.
Ten years ago, Calamity came. It was a burst in the sky that gave ordinary men and women extraordinary powers. The awed public started calling them Epics.
But Epics are no friend of man. With incredible gifts came the desire to rule. And to rule man you must crush his wills.
Nobody fights the Epics… nobody but the Reckoners. A shadowy group of ordinary humans, they spend their lives studying Epics, finding their weaknesses, and then assassinating them.
And David wants in. He wants Steelheart—the Epic who is said to be invincible. The Epic who killed David’s father. For years, like the Reckoners, David’s been studying, and planning—and he has something they need. Not an object, but an experience.
He’s seen Steelheart bleed. And he wants revenge.

An okay book, the plot and idea’s for it were fantastic, but I still fell asleep a few times while reading this (and that’s not a metaphor, I actually fell asleep on multiple occasions) and a really good book shouldn’t do that to you, no matter how long you’ve been awake and are tired a book should keep you riveted to the pages, hell there are some nights when a book is so good that I just don’t go to bed. I didn’t get that here at all, it took me almost a week to finish it and that’s a very sad thing, because I can get finished with a four to six hundred page book in a single day, my copy of the book was only 384 pages, I could have finished this easy in three/four hours had I not been falling asleep during it.

Despite the lack of interest I had towards the book I will say that it was pretty creative, A city made completely of steel is not something you encounter every day especially when said city is full to the brim of Epics (SuperVillians) and hasn’t seen the sunlight in years. That’s really the only reason why I kept reading it, because the writing was so boring, but everything in the book was just so original and there were even a few plot twist that I didn’t see coming, except for Megan I saw that one a mile away, very few authors have the guts to kill off an important character like her. But Prof’s secret and SteelHeart’s weakness really did turn my head.

So despite of the uninteresting writing style the author took up I’m going to rate the book 4/5 for creativity and originality which is how I usually rate a book anyway.