The Three Musketeers by: Alexandre Dumas

“The Three Musketeers tell the story of the early adventures of the young Gascon gentleman d’Artagnan & his three friends from the regiment of the King’s Musketeers – Athos, Porthos & Aramis. Under the watchful eye of their patron M. de Treville, the four defend the honour of the regiment against the guards of the Cardinal Richelieu, & the honor of the queen against the machinations of the Cardinal himself as the power struggles of 17th-century France are vividly played out in the background. But their most dangerous encounter is with the Cardinal’s spy: Milady, one of literature’s most memorable female villains.” -Goodreads
This story had me enraptured from the first page. From cover to cover it was witty, funny, and exciting. Dumas kept me engaged and on the edge of my seat and despite his characters being more than a hundred years old I still felt a strong attachment them. This speaks volumes of the strength of Dumas’ writing prowess. At some points I could hardly sit still in my seat, I was laughing out loud while reading about d’Artagnan and his fateful encounter with each musketeer in turn and all their misfit adventures. At times I found myself holding my breath and gripping the book tightly as I read about our heroes daring fights, near death experiences, the betrayals they experienced, and the pains they all went through. The story starts fast-paced and doesn’t slow down until the last page and Dumas’ third person point of view allows the reader to really view the action from all sides. This book can only be described as one of a kind. I truly loved reading this story and would recommend it for anyone who is interested in a classic.
This book had excellent and engaging characters, the writing was above superb, and the plot was exciting and fast paced. Given the chance I will gladly read the sequel and the triquel. I rate this book five out of five.

Leave a Reply

