Sonnet

This week in my creative writing class we strayed away from our short stories and worked on poetry. One of the poems we did was a type of shakespearean sonnet where you insult your lover.
It’s an interesting concept to make a poem list the faults you have with someone. Of course, the ending makes up for it by giving them a lovey dove couplet.

I, of course, made my sonnet for my one and only true love haha.

So on to the prompt: Make a poem that makes fun of someone or something and follow this rhyme scheme- ababcdcdefefegg while the last stanza (the gg) begins with “And yet,.”

For your enjoyment: Lelouch vi Brtiannia

I honestly don’t remember how we met
Our meeting so unmemorable it seems
I think I was surfing youtube on the internet
I didn’t know that you’d drive my sanity to the extremes

It’s because of you I lost so much sleep
Some many times you left me hanging there
The seeds of despair were sowed and I had to reap
This relationship wasn’t even close to fair

I cried all night when the curtain closed
After you for a week I couldn’t eat
I was left completely indisposed
How did you manage this feat?

And yet, for so many reasons I’ll love you always
You’ll be in my heart for the rest of my days

Leave a Reply

