The Girl with the Iron Touch by: Kady Cross

In 1897 London, something not quite human is about to awaken
When mechanical genius Emily is kidnapped by rogue automatons, Finley Jayne and her fellow misfits fear the worst. What’s left of their archenemy, The Machinist, hungers to be resurrected, and Emily must transplant his consciousness into one of his automatons—or forfeit her friends’ lives.
With Griffin being mysteriously tormented by the Aether, the young duke’s sanity is close to the breaking point. Seeking help, Finley turns to Jack Dandy, but trusting the master criminal is as dangerous as controlling her dark side. When Jack kisses her, Finley must finally confront her true feelings for him…and for Griffin.
Meanwhile, Sam is searching everywhere for Emily, from Whitechapel’s desolate alleyways to Mayfair’s elegant mansions. He would walk into hell for her, but the choice she must make will test them more than they could imagine.
To save those she cares about, Emily must confront The Machinist’s ultimate creation—an automaton more human than machine. And if she’s to have any chance at triumphing, she must summon a strength even she doesn’t know she has….

I think this book was the better of all the other books, I actually wasn’t bored at any bits or pieces. The whole book though was really lovey dovey. The author paired up every single character with someone, Sam+Emily, Griffin+Finley, Jack+Mila, and Jasper+Wildcat. I felt like I was on a dating show, a romance novel rather then steampunk/action.
Other than then all the hook-ups I did like the book, even though I think the story should have ended at this book, but instead the ending left more to be said and even though this book series is okay, four book just seems like a bit to much. An author needs to know when to end the series. Look at the House of Night series, Jesus Christ I think they’re on book ten or something, I stopped reading at book six, I just got so damn fed up with the cliffhangers and a lack of ending, is anyone still reading those?

Anyway back to The Girl with the Iron Touch, good book, decent ending, hook-ups okay, be warned Griffin and Finley have sex in this one, it’s pretty failed, I guess if you were like fourteen it would work, but it was greatly romanticized.
Here’s a thought, what if Jack+Mila and Griffin+Finley become swingers. I really don’t like Griffin, I prefer jack still.
Okay, I’m going to stop there before I go off on another tangent, I rate the book 4/5.

Leave a Reply

