The Almighty Johnsons 3×13 ‘The End of the World as we Know it’

I know that a lot of you guys who are following my blog will have no idea what The Almighty Johnsons is, but since the very last episode aired today, and it is a really great show, I felt like a mention of it should be put in.

The shows main premise is about four brothers and their grandfather who have all become the living incarnations of Norse gods. There’s Mike, the eldest brother, who’s Ullr, the god of games and the hunt, Anders, who’s the incarnation of Braggi, the god of poetry, Ty, the moody, serious brother, who’s Hoor, the god of all things dark and cold, and then there’s Axl who on his 21st birthday receives his godly powers, it turns out he’s suppose to be Odin and as Odin he’s suppose to find his beloved Frigg. There to help them for anything and give them in oracle advice is their grandfather Olaf, who’s actually Baldr.

A lot of things happen on the road to finding Frigg, sex, love, betrayal, Goddesses, God killers, more sex, lots of drugs and alcohol, Thor and his hammer, a magic stick that heals people and is used for pole dancing, sex changes, fucked up marriages, murders, heart break, mother’s who turn into trees, more sex, Maori gods, and a whole lot of other crazy shit.

This show is honestly one of the best I’ve ever watched, all the ups and downs that the boys went through had me on the edge of my seat the entire time, there wasn’t a single dull moment. When I realized that shot though didn’t mean putting a bullet through the brain I was quite ecstatic knowing that their father wasn’t dead, and when they find out that their mother was no longer a tree I was as stunned as the brothers (until it turned out their mother was a psychopath and was sentenced to be a tree again), I almost cried with Gaia when she admitted to Axl that she slept with his brother Anders. And I did cry when Dawn forgot all about her love for Ty after he had just died to be with her.
This show made me laugh, made me cry, made me never want to do drugs, and it will always hold a spot in my top favorite T.V. shows. If you haven’t seen or even heard of the show, just watch the Pilot and I can assure you that you will be hooked.
This is final farewell to The Almighty Johnsons, one of the best shows ever.

Leave a Reply

