Chocolate Loaf Cake

I already have a chocolate loaf cake recipe, but I used the rest of my butter on those biscuits I made yesterday so I had to find a new recipe that used oil. I went with a Martha Stewart recipe even though Martha Stewart kinda sucks. (http://www.marthastewart.com/346588/chocolate-loaf-cake)
I currently have the cake baking in the oven, everything went over pretty smoothly except there’s a random 3/4 cup of warm water that says to add in the batter, I didn’t add that in the batter. By the time I added my buttermilk the batter was pretty loose already, and considering it’s a loaf cake and it’s suppose to be thick I actually thought it was a little bit to loose especially since the other loaf cake I made has the consistency of whipped chocolate frosting. Also I added the rest of my mini chocolate chips into the batter so this cake better turn out because it’s a sin to waste chocolate chips.
So I just finished the cake and had sample of it, it’s really good. The cake has a rich darkness to it and the chocolate chips I put in there added a nice bit a moisture where it would be otherwise dry. The top did sort of cave in but I’m more interested in taste than looks and it does taste good. I dusted (coated) the cake in powder sugar because chocolate and powder sugar always go good together even though I think a drizzle over the top would be way more yummy, but again since I didn’t have any stick butter and I’m lazy I decided not to make a vanilla frosting, but the cake is still yummy without it, if anyone does decide to make the cake and frosting tell me what you think about it.

One thought on “Chocolate Loaf Cake

Leave a Reply

