Homemade Biscuits (without shortening)

This morning I woke up at an obscenely earlier hour and I couldn’t fall back asleep, curse my school schedule, anyway as I was laying there in bed I had the strangest urge to use my mom’s biscuit cutters that she had bought months ago but hadn’t even bothered to get out the packaging yet. Now remember this was at 8:30 a.m. that I was having these crazy thoughts, but anyway I got out the nook, because it’s smaller and easier to handle in the kitchen and I can play music on it while I’m baking, and looked up a recipe for biscuits without shortening. I found this pretty simple on a blog while Google searching (http://www.homesicktexan.com/2007/04/everythings-better-with-biscuits.html).
The biscuits are quite good and even though I woke up my mom and sister in the process I’d say that a little lack of sleep was worth it. I made biscuit gravy from a package, eggs, hash browns, and bacon to eat with them. My sister who said that these biscuits better be the best she ever had for waking her up said that they were pretty decent.

The biscuits get really high from the baking powder so make sure that you follow his/her instructions about how thin you roll the dough out.
In my packaging of biscuit cutters there were two, a big one and a smaller one, to make the 10-15 biscuits that he/she said the dough would make I had to use the small one.
I already mentioned in my pancake recipe how to make your own buttermilk if you don’t have any, but I’ll tell you again, a cup of milk and a tbls. of white vinegar and you wait 5 minutes before you add it to the mixture.

Hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

