This Book is Full of Spiders,… (John Dies at the End #2) by: David Wong

This book series is the most complex book series I have ever read so far in my life. I know some people can’t get pass the jokes of penis’s and other lewd stuff, but these books are fantastic. They are littered with pop culture references and it’s almost impossible to follow the story line (I find that a good thing) the ending is always a surprise. I love the John Dies at the End series, the stories are always very original and creative, and they always make me laugh until the very last page.

This book started off with David and John pissing off the top of the water tower when they see a convoy of trucks coming past. One of the trucks veers off and crashes while the rest leave it behind. I laughed when I read that that the trucks were full of life-size GI-Joe dolls in the place of humans, and like a true John Dies at the End book, we don’t learn why that is until the very end, nor do we learn what’s in the case that they picked up from the truck. Everything is done in the usual manner of David and John, mainly they bumble around, get wasted, kill some monsters, try to save people (and the world). The whole zombie/spider apocalypse made me smile and I think they got it pretty head on as to how people would react if this stuff actually did happen.

This book had a continuos countdown in it, from the Outbreak, to the Massacre, and to the Bombing, and then the book was broken up into different parts. It made the story seem even more complex. It also made me sit at the edge of my seat the whole time, making me wondering how this or that was going to happen and then cringing when it does.

I liked being able to read the parts with Amy and John without David being there, because in the last book it was solely just David. We got to learn a bit more about Marconi too (he’s such a MorganFreeman). The way that the Author manages to write how each characters’ actions affected the others always had me guessing as to what was going to happen next. Like when Amy is trying to get to David and ends up creating the Massacre at the hospital, I completely did not expect that.

The whole book is just a slopping pile of complicated twists and turns that will leave you guessing and chasing your own tail until the very end when everything is finally played out. I always hate books that I end up figuring out who the bad guy is or how it’s going to end, which is why this series is so good, they are always unpredictable.

I rate this book a 5/5, a very high praise. Definitely for anyone who can stomach the inappropriate jokes about anything and everything that can be considered inappropriate.

Leave a Reply

