Allegiant (Divergent #3) Veronica Roth

Divergent became the most popular and most anticipated book series along with Legend, Mortal Instruments, and Heroes of Olympus. I loved this book series it made me cry, laugh, and actually think about moral issues and about “doing the right thing.” Not many books can hold that kind of sway over a reader, but Veronica Roth delivers a trilogy that is so touching that you have to put real thought into it. This series has taken me through a real journey and I’m glad to see where it’s finally landed. It’s not the best ending ever created, but it’s not the worst either, it’s an ending that you’ll remember.

The story basically starts off where it ended in the last book, Insurgent. Tris and her friends are in a jail cell awaiting their trials after having shown the video of Tris’s ancestor telling everyone about why the city was created and what the Divergent are there for. Truth be told, I didn’t actually remember half of the characters or what the video actually said because of the long wait in between reading the two books. However, even though I never actually re-remembered the characters, the message was repeated over in the story and had many mentions and recalls.

I think what made this book so awesome was that we got duel perspectives; one POV was from Tris like in all of the other books and the other was from Tobias/Four. We got more details about Tobias’s mother and father and how growing up with them was like and how it made him into the person he was currently. I liked all of the back information we got about his life and family.

The book takes into detail about the conflict between the Faction believers (or also known as the Allegiant) and the FactionLess. The FactionLess want to stay inside of the safety of the fence and leave the outside world alone, the Allegiant want to leave the Town and try to help the people outside. Tris and Tobias end up joining the Allegiant and leaving the Town to see what is actually outside of the fence.

But then *major plot twist* the whole thing is just a ruse by the government in the outside world (I really never saw that one coming). It turns out the people who live past the fence built the town into what it was and they created the factions to try and create desirable genes… or the Divergent.

After that everything seems to fall into a familiar pattern, except this time we get to learn about it through Tobias’s eyes as well. Tris and her friends learn about how these government had betrayed them and are going to wipe the memories of all of the town’s people so they can reset the program. So after Tris and Tobias start having couple’s issues, a revolution fails, people die, and Tris gets put on a council or something they all decide that instead of letting the government erase the memories of all their friends and families they’re going to erase the memories of the people working for the government. That one seemed very stretched to me, instead of releasing the memory serum on the government people I don’t know why they just didn’t decide to inoculate everyone in the town, that sounds way more reasonable.

In the end though that’s what they do, erase everyone’s memories, but in the process of that Tris dies. I was in the middle of my French class when I got to that part and I just started crying, it was terrible. I’d hate to say that the ending was terrible, but in a situation like this I wish Roth had done something different. I didn’t hate it, I didn’t really like it either, but I can see why it was done like that it. It gave a final and resolute end to a great series. I’m glad to have read this book and been able to learn so much from it.
I rate the book 4/5

P.S.
I’m excited for the movie set to come out this year, I hope it’s fantastic and really portrays that books as it should.